Contact Info

Last Modified: Sep. 11, 2017
[NEW]Announcement of IEEE Sendai WIE kickoff Event "WIE(Women in Engineering) in TOHOKU"

Dear IEEE Sendai Section Members,

It is our great pleasure to announce that Sendai WIE (Women in engineering, Sendai) is newly formed under IEEE Sendai section.
WIE (Women in Engineering) is one of the groups under IEEE, earnestly working with the aim of supporting collaboration and activities of female engineers and researchers in the field of science and technology.
In Japan, WIE Sendai becomes the fourth WIE affinity group following WIE affinity groups under Japan Council, Sapporo section and Kansai section.

The kick-off event of Sendai WIE will be held on 29th September as follows.
We are looking forward for your active participation.

IEEE Sendai WIE Kickoff Event
"WIE(Women in Engineering) in TOHOKU"

■ Date/time: 29th September, 2017 (15:00-18:30)

■ Venue: Main building 1F, RIEC, Tohoku University
2-1-1 Katahira, Aoba-ku, Sendai

■ Program: 15:00-15:30  Opening Meeting
15:40-17:00  Panel Discussion
17:15-18:30  Reception

Please click here for more details.

■ Registration fee: Opening Meeting / Panel Discussion: free
Reception: JPY 3,000 (Student JPY 1,500)

■ How to register: Please contact us by Email ()
with the following information:
・IEEE membership number:
・Join the Reception? [Yes or No]

■ Contact: Hitoshi Kikuchi, Sendai WIE Secretary
E-Mail :

Sendai WIE
E-Mail :

WIE Sendai will make efforts to continuously enhance the activities to fulfil your expectation.
Thank you for your sincere understanding and continued support.

Interim Officers of Sendai WIE
 Chair: Basabi Chakraborty (Iwate Prefectural University)
 Vice-Chair: Qiaowei Yuan (National Institute of Technology, Sendai College)
 Secretary/Treasurer: Hitoshi Kikuchi (IEEE Sendai Section)

[NEW] Announcement of candidates of Sendai Section Officers for 2018-2019.
Dear IEEE Sendai Section member,

Pursuant to the provisions of Sendai Section Bylaws,
the following candidates have been nominated for the Sendai Section
Officers for 2018/2019.

Officer candidates:

 Chair: Michitaka KAMEYAMA,
  (Department of Information Technology and Electronics,
   Ishinomaki Senshu University)

 Vice-Chair: Hirohito YAMADA
  (Department of Communications Engineering,
   Graduate School of Engineering,
   Tohoku University)

 Secretary: Noriharu SUEMATSU
  (Research Institute of Electrical Communication,
   Tohoku University)

 Treasurer: Tadahiro YONEZAWA
  (NTTEAST-TOHOKU Corporation)

If you wish to recommend additional candidates other than the above,
please submit a petition to the Sendai Section Office by September 30,
with the signatures of 2% (13 persons) or more voting members.


Shinichiro Omachi
Nominations Committee Chair,
IEEE Sendai Section

《IEEE Sendai Section》
e-mail :

# Officer election procedure is here [Japanese only]

Signal Processing Society Sendai Chapter信号処理技術講演会
■ Date: APR. 17, 2017 16:00-17:45

■ Venue: RIEC Main Building1F, Open Seminar Room, Tohoku University

■ Program:
- Introduction of IEEE Signal Processing Sendai Chapter
 Prof. Kazuhiro Kondo, Chair of SP Sendai Chapter/Yamagata University

- 1st Talk: Metacommunication between human and machine<Abstract>
 Lecturer - Prof. Akinoro Ito, Tohoku University

- 2nd Talk: Multipresence and signal processing<Abstract>
 Lecturer - Prof. Michael Cohen, Aizu University

■ Number of Participation: 25

Sendai Section received the gold medal for "2016 Outstanding Section Membership Recruitment and Retention Performance"
We have achieved both recruitment and retention goals for the 2016 membership year.
Thank you very much for your support!

Lecturer Meeting
■ Date: 16:30〜17:55 on Dec. 15, 2016

■ Location: RIEC Tohoku Univ. Main Building
1st Floor Open Seminar Room
(2-1-1, Katahira, Aoba-ku, Sendai, Miyagi 980-8577, Japan)

■ Lecturer:
Dr. Minoru Kubota (NICT)
Dr. Fumie Ono (NICT)

■ Number of Participation: 52

[Report] Tohoku University and University of Aizu Student Group Cooperative Event "Workshop for consideration of regional revitalization"
Tohoku University Student Branch and University of Aizu Student Group cooperatively held the event,
"Workshop for consideration of regional revitalization".
For the details, please see the <Report>. (Japanese)

[Information] How to Join IEEE
Information about registration of IEEE is offered in the following Web sites.
We hope you find it informative.
How to Promote Yourself to Senior Member

We suggest you to obtain the most suitable member grade.
The application for Senior Member can be simply made at IEEE web site.
For more information about application procedure, please click here.